At the start of the 2019 spring semester, SUSTech has launched the "Top Ten Achievementa of Southern University of Science and Technology in 2018." It has been an amazing year for SUSTech, with SUSTech faculty members and students making remarkable achievements in all aspects of its development.

May 10 saw the Academic Degree Committee of the State Council announce that SUSTech has been successful in its application for a doctoral degree awarding unit, becoming the fastest university in mainland China to obtain doctoral authorized units. On September 26, Times Higher Education (THE) published its "World University Ranking 2018-2019". SUSTech entered for the first time and was ranked eighth in mainland China. SUSTech ranked fourth among the rising stars of the Nature Index 2018 released in September, and first among the rising stars of young universities. The Department of Chemistry and Department of Materials Science and Engineering both entered the top 1% of ESI globally. On November 13, Guangdong Province announced the list of universities to be built under the plan for promoting key academic disciplines and higher education institutions. SUSTech was selected as a high-level university to focus on the development of higher education institutions.

SUSTech’s achievements reflect positively on the effort of everyone on campus. 2018 will be forever recorded in the annals of SUSTech and is a new starting point for the common goals.

In the new semester under the new era, SUSTech will reflect on its past achievements and continue from a new starting point. SUSTech will continue to carry forward the spirit of "daring to try, seeking truth and pragmatism, reforming and innovating, and pursuing excellence". SUSTech will strive for Double First-Class status. With a higher historical position and a wider international perspective, SUSTech will build a world-class university, rooted in China. SUSTech will write better chapters on the road to finding better educational examples.

2019 appears to be both promising and exciting.





A Solid Foundation Strengthens the Development of the Party work
2019-02-20

1.2.1.jpg

In 2018, the SUSTech party committee adhered to the "all-around leadership of the party and the governance of modern universities, in order to make the party building work well with the attitude of reform and innovation. Taking all aspects of strengthening the construction of the faculties and departments of the school as a starting point, we have taken a number of measures to lay a solid foundation for party building work, highlight the characteristics of party building work, and push the party building work of SUSTech to a new height.

In April, the SUSTech party committee held a 2018 party building work conference to study and deploy the key tasks of party building in the next stage.

In December, the Party Committee of the College of Engineering and the Party Committee of the College of Science was established. This is the first-level college party committee created by SUSTech, which opened a new chapter in the milestone of the college development. 

In December the Municipal Party Committee First Inspection Team gave feedback about the inspections from September 11 to November 9 to the party committee of SUSTech. SUSTech took this as an opportunity to promote reform and development according to the inspection, combining the implementation of the rectification and the school's central work together. Through inspecting and rectify the party development, teaching, scientific research and management of the school, SUSTech is encouraged in all types of works to reach new heights.

伴随春的序曲,南科大2019年春季学期拉开帷幕,学校春季战略研讨会也即将召开,再次吹响南科大人奋进的号角。在这新春伊始、万象更新之际,我们在此发布“南科大2018年十大办学进展”,一起盘点过去一年南科大的发展建设成就和南科大人的收获。

回望2018,是南科大喜获丰收的一年,全校师生以习近平新时代中国特色社会主义思想和党的十九大精神为指引,改革创新,砥砺奋进,学校各方面发展取得了令人瞩目的成绩。

2018年5月10日,国务院学位委员会公布审核增列的授权单位和授权点名单,南科大成功入选为博士学位授予单位,是国内最快获得博士授权单位的高校。9月26日,泰晤士世界大学排名网发布“2018-2019泰晤士高等教育世界大学排名”,南科大作为新兴大学首次提交数据并上榜,并列中国内地高校第8位。9月发布的“自然指数2018上升之星”榜单中,南科大排名第四,居于年轻大学上升之星的首位;化学、材料科学两个学科进入ESI全球前1%。11月13日,广东省公布高等教育“冲一流、补短板、强特色”提升计划建设高校名单,南科大成为高水平大学重点建设高校,也是其中最年轻的一所高校……

南科大所取得的成绩,凝结着每一位南科大人奋斗的汗水。硕果累累的2018年,必定永载南科大史册,成为我们共同奋斗的新起点。

新学期,新气象,我们将立足过往办学成绩,站在新的起点再次出发,继续发扬“敢闯敢试、求真务实、改革创新、追求卓越”的创校精神,立德铸魂,争创一流,以更高的历史站位、更宽的国际视野,在扎根中国大地建设世界一流大学、争创中国特色社会主义大学范例的道路上奋进不止,书写更加美好的篇章。

未来可期。2019年,必定更加精彩。





固本强基扎实推进党建工作
我校工学院、理学院党委成立
2019-02-20

1.2.1.jpg

面对新时代新要求,学校党委进一步思考扎根中国大地创建世界一流大学新路径,将 2018 年定为“基层组织建设年”,不断强化党建工作。党的建设成为学校建设世界一流大学的引领保障。

2018 年,在中央和省、市党委政府的坚强领导下,学校党委高举习近平新时代中国特色社会主义思想伟大旗帜,认真贯彻落实习近平总书记视察广东重要讲话精神和全国教育大会精神,强化立德树人根本任务,深入实施“党的全面领导+现代大学治理”新模式,推动各项事业取得新的显著成绩。

4 月,我校党委举行 2018 年党建工作会议,研究部署下一阶段党建重点工作。

12 月,我校工学院党委、理学院党委成立,制定实施二级学院党政联席会议制度、党委会制度、系党组织会议制度,推进党建与业务双融双促。这是学校首次创建的二级学院党委,翻开了学院发展里程碑式的新篇章。

12 月,市委第一巡察组向南方科技大学党委反馈 9 月11 日至 11 月 9 日期间开展巡察情况。学校以巡察整改为契机,以巡促改、以巡促建,把落实整改与学校的中心工作结合起来,把巡察整改工作贯穿到学校党建、教学、科研、管理各项工作中,着力以扎实的整改成效推动学校各项工作再上新台阶。